Under the Canopy 2 – Submissions

For Under the Canopy 2 we reached out to our community of architects, designers and artists to submit a new design to be built at F3 (Friends Futures Factory) at the end of 2023.

We asked the applicants to think about three things:

FUNCTIONALITY: The canopy must be suitable for the F3 space by using the existing site, it must provide shade and comfort to visitors, and be adequate for public events and large crowds.

BEAUTY: Designers must consider the environment in which the canopy is situated that includes historical buildings and natural features like the large tree in the courtyard. We don’t have specific requirements regarding the beauty, but ask that the designers use their imagination and creativity to propose a design that is new and exciting.

SUSTAINABILITY: The canopy is a temporary structure and in line with our principals it must be built from environmentally sustainable materials. Materials must be sourced from natural, organic materials OR recovered from waste AND can be either safely disposed of OR reused after the project.

After receiving several amazing proposals our jury has selected only 3 shortlisted candidates to move on to the next part of the competition. With mentorship from Charles Gallavardin and Dominique Desmet, the three candidates will have one month to complete their Master Plan. The jury will then select the final winner from these three and announce it to the public in early June 2023.


Here is a selection of the fantastic submissions that we received, only excluding those who didn’t want their project shared with the public. We would like to add that although we really loved the submissions that we received and found many designs impressive, not all were suitable for our purposes. However, we hope that by sharing them here, the public can appreciate their work and inspiring designs!

The three shortlisted candidates are highlighted at the top of the list.

Discover the three shortlisted candidates

Dok Techlong – Pan Liden – Main Nika
May Sokunlanita – Sophonn Davy
Sou Oudom – Try Sokha Raksmey
Am Savuth
Chhay Monyneath – Kreng Menghuy
Chiv Vengseng
Leng Monykandy – Kruy Chou – Ty Seakmy
Loem Liching – Pen Chan Cheatra – Try Thunsarvipo
Ngoun Sivgech
Nhim Sobody
Ouk Thanak
Pen Lisa – Mak Molirithiruth – Yos Davith
Soy Yongthav
Sreyne Thea – Vathana Meng – Rithdareya Chin